Keyholder Residencies

NEXT DEADLINE: March 1, 2018, 6PM EST

The Keyholder Residency Program offers emerging artists free 24-hour access to printmaking facilities to develop new work and foster their artistic careers. Residencies are free and one year long, starting on April 1st and October 1st each year, and they take place in the shared Artists’ Studio, including the solvent/etching area and the darkroom.

Keyholders work independently, in a productive atmosphere alongside other contemporary artists. Artists from all disciplines are eligible to apply; print-making skills are not required, but some familiarity with the medium is recommended. Basic instruction in printmaking techniques is available for new Keyholders. Technical assistance is not included in the program, but is available at additional cost.

Participation is competitive. Applications are evaluated by a rotating committee of artists, critics, curators, and art professionals based on the quality of submitted artwork. A total of 8 artists are awarded the residency annually. Artists based in the New York City area and without access to a studio space are encouraged to apply.

Ruth Lingen of Pace Paper conducting a Keyholder Salon

Keyholder Residency includes

  • 24-hour shared studio access
  • $1,000 stipend
  • storage space
  • basic supplies (newsprint, blotters, solvents, cleaners)
  • one free class in printmaking and consultations with Master Printers
  • 20% discount on all Printshop classes
  • free career development workshops
  • inclusion in the Printshop’s permanent collection
  • opportunities to show new work in exhibitions and other public events presented by the Printshop

Keyholder Residencies have been supported in large part by grants from the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governer Andrew Cuomo and New York State Legislature, NYC Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council, Jerome Foundation, New York Community Trust, PECO Foundation, and Milton and Sally Avery Arts Foundation.

Congratulations to the Fall 2017 recipients of the LESP Keyholder Residency:

We thank the selection panelists:

Cecile Chong, Artist and Keyholder Alumna
Pradeep Dalal, Artist and Educator
Michelle Levy, Director of the EFA Project Space Program
Corina Reynolds, Director and Co-founder of Small Editions

The new Keyholders join our Spring of 2017 Keyholder awardees in the studio:

Nyeema Morgan
Yesuk Seo
Lachell Workman
Crys Yin

2016-2017 Keyholder Alumni

Sophie Grant
Erica Mao
Pacifico Silano
JooHee Yoon